Skip to content

Wholesale Laws for Louisiana

Produced in partnership with

Avalara Logo

 

Last Updated: July 2, 2018

Summary

The Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control (ATC) is responsible for overseeing the alcoholic beverage and tobacco industries within the State of Louisiana. ATC consists of four divisions: Administration, Business Development, Enforcement, and Legal & Prosecution. The head of ATC is the Commissioner, who is appointed by the Governor.

Laws & Rules:

Supplier Licensing

Required: Yes

Name: Out of State Manufacturer/Supplier Permit

Fee:

  • $200 – less than 1000 cases
  • $1000 – 1000 cases or more

Expiration: Dec. 31st of each year

In addition to obtaining a license from ATC, suppliers must receive an “Authority to Ship” from the Louisiana Department of Revenue (LDR) to ship alcohol beverages into the state.

Resources:

Product Registration

Required: Yes

Fee: $5 processing fee

Approval: 2-3 days

Expiration: Dec. 31st of each year

Revision Required: COLA change

Suppliers must register each label (COLA) with ATC online using PRO – a paper option is not available. A winery must register with the ATC as an out-of-state manufacturer/supplier prior to registering labels.

Labels registered for distribution to a local wholesaler cannot also be registered for direct-to-consumer sales. However, any label sold to a LA wholesaler may be shipped directly to a consumer in LA who purchases the wine on-site.

There is a $5.00 processing fee to register each label.

Resources:

Franchise "Monopoly Protection" Law

Franchise Law: No

Exclusive Territories: Not Required

Louisiana does not have a franchise law for wine.

Supplier Reporting Requirements

Required: Yes

Name: Invoice Report

Due Date: Monthly, by the 10th

A copy of the invoice listing the merchandise and total amount shipped to the Louisiana wholesale dealer MUST be mailed to both the Department of Revenue, and the Taxpayer Services Division, Excise Tax Section upon execution of the shipment.

Sales Representative Licensing

Available: Yes

Fee: $5

Expiration: Dec. 31st of each year

A solictor’s permit is required to solicit orders for alcoholic beverages greater than 6% alcohol by volume. The holder of a solicitor permit may not represent more than one dealer and the dealer’s name must appear on the permit.

Resources:

Self-Distribution

License: Not Allowed

There are no statutory or regulatory provisions allowing an out-of-state winery to self-distribute.

Trade Practice Advisories

Louisiana Alcohol and Tobacco Control
PO Box 66404
Baton Rouge, LA 70896-6404
Phone: 225-925-4041

Louisiana Department of Revenue
Excise Tax Section
617 North Third Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70812
Phone: 225-219-7656, Option 2

 

Recent Compliance Alerts

View all Compliance Alerts

 

This information is intended for winegrower licensees only. All information above is provided as an informational aid and is not legal advice. Data may be out-of-date or incomplete. Please consult a lawyer before taking any action.