Skip to content

Our 80-member board includes vintners–small, large and in between–representing each of California’s diverse winegrowing regions. The board is supported by the work of numerous committees and working groups. All members are invited to attend our quarterly board meetings and participate in committee meetings, and no winery has more than two votes on our board.


2019-2020 Board of Directors

Hank WetzelHank Wetzel, Founder and Family Partner of Alexander Valley Vineyards in Healdsburg, has been elected Wine Institute Board Chairman for the 2019-2020 fiscal year. The election was held at Wine Institute’s 85th Annual Meeting of Members in Calistoga. Other board officers elected are John Sutton of The Wine Group in Livermore, first vice chairman; Suzanne Groth of Groth Vineyards & Winery in Oakville, second vice chairman; Rick Tigner of Jackson Family Wines in Santa Rosa, treasurer; and Randall Lange of LangeTwins Vineyards and Winery in Acampo, secretary. Bobby Koch is President and CEO of Wine Institute. Wine Institute’s membership also elected new district and at-large directors and alternates.

2019-2020 District Directors
District Director Alternate
Northern: Kaj Ahlman, Six Sigma Winery To be announced
Sonoma: Katie Wetzel Murphy, Alexander Valley Vineyards Carmen Castaldi, Rodney Strong Wine Estates
Harry Wetzel, Alexander Valley Vineyards Eric Lent, St. Michelle Wine Estates
Steven MacRostie, MacRostie Winery & Vineyards Louis M. Foppiano, Foppiano Vineyards
Julie Pedroncelli St. John, J. Pedroncelli Winery Mark Malpiede, Williams Selyem
Napa: David Duncan, Silver Oak Cellars Michael Maher, Harlan Estate
Dennis Cakebread, Cakebread Cellars Delia Viader, Viader Vineyards
Suzanne Groth, Groth Vineyards & Winery Robin Baggett, Alpha Omega Winery
Hugh Davies, Schramsberg Vineyards Chris Hall, Long Meadow Ranch
Mike Reynolds, Hall Wines Paul Leary, Blackbird Vineyards
San Francisco Bay: Earl Ault, Cedar Mountain Winery William Cooper, Cooper-Garrod Vineyards
Monterey Bay: Scott Scheid, Scheid Vineyards Lawrence T. Lohr, J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines
Central Coast: Laura Booras, Riverbench Winery Nicholas Miller, The Thornhill Companies
Gary Eberle, Eberle Winery Maeve Pesquera, Daou Vineyards & Winery
Gretchen Roddick, Hope Family Wines To be announced
Karen Steinwachs, Buttonwood Farm Winery To be announced
Southern: Linda McWilliams, San Pasqual Winery Stephen Kahle, Woof ‘n Rose Winery
Sierra: Steven Millier, Milliaire Winery Elisheva Gur-Arieh, C.G. Di Arie Vineyard & Winery
Northern Interior: Randall Lange, LangeTwins Vineyards & Winery David Phillips, Michael-David Winery
Southern Interior: Steven Schafer, San Joaquin Wine Company William Nakata, ASV Wines, Inc.
2019-2020 At-Large Directors
At-Large Director Alternate
Corey Beck, Francis Ford Coppola Winery Ken Minami, Francis Ford Coppola Winery
Giancarlo Bianchetti, Fetzer Vineyards Nicole Iverson, Fetzer Vineyards
James Coleman, E. & J. Gallo Winery To be annouced
Cindy DeVries, Fetzer Vineyards Rodrigo Maturana, Fetzer Vineyards
Michael Drobnick, O’Neill Vintners & Distillers Matthew Towers, O’Neill Vintners & Distillers
John Franzia, Jr., Bronco Wine Company Daniel Leonard, Bronco Wine Company
Joseph Franzia, Bronco Wine Company Chris Mifsud, Bronco Wine Company
Matthew Gallo, Gallo Family Vineyards Stephanie Gallo, E. & J. Gallo Winery
Tobin Ginter, Rodney Strong Vineyards Timothy Burgess, Rodney Strong Vineyards
Sam Glaetzer, Constellation Brands Nichole Malec, Constellations Brands
Peter Larson, Trinchero Family Estates Roger Trinchero, Trinchero Family Estates
James O’Malley, Brown-Forman Corporation David Perata, Sonoma-Cutrer Vineyards
John Sutton, The Wine Group Keith Bauman, The Wine Group
Rick Tigner, Jackson Family Wines Katie Jackson, Jackson Family Wines
Robert Torkelson, Trinchero Family Estates Anthony Torres, Trinchero Family Estates
Brian Vos, The Wine Group Jeff Dubiel, The Wine Group
Michael Walker, Constellation Brands Tiffanie De Liberty, Constellation Brands
Christine Wente, Family Estates Amy Hoopes, Wente Family Estates
Jeff Wesselkamper, Jackson Family Wines Carolyn Wasem, Jackson Family Wines
Jolene Yee, Delicato Family Vineyards Cheryl Indelicato, Delicato Family Vineyards