Governor Bredesen of Tennessee signed Senate Bill 166 on June 5, 2009 making it possible for wineries to obtain permits to ship wine directly to Tennessee consumers beginning July 1, 2009. There is a one time non-refundable fee of $300 to submit the permit application to the Tennessee Alcohol Beverage Commission for review. Once the application has been approved the applicant will be required to pay the annual direct shipping license fee of $150. Direct Shippers will be able to ship up to 1 case of wine (9 liters) to an adult during each calendar month and a total of 3 cases (27 liters) of wine to an adult consumer during the calendar year. Wineries will be responsible for paying sales and gallonage taxes
On June 12, 2009 Governor Baldacci, signed bill LD 1008 into law opening up Maine for direct-to-consumer wine shipments. The new permit law will become effective on September 4, 2009. Wineries with a permit will be able to ship up to 12 nine liter cases to any one recipient address each calendar year. Applicants will be required to pay a license fee of no more than $200 and a $100 registration fee for their initial permit. Direct shippers may then renew their direct shipper’s license for $50 each calendar year. Direct shippers will also be required to pay sales tax, excise and premium taxes and file quarterly reports with the Maine Bureau of License Enforcement and
Direct shipping permit applications for Tennessee and Maine are not yet available. Information about the application process or forms will be posted on the Wine Institute web site as soon as it becomes available. For more information, contact Wine Institute’s State Relations Department at 415/356-7530 or firstname.lastname@example.org.