On July 1, 2010 Iowa will officially transition from a reciprocal direct-to-consumer state to a permit state. The new permit law requires wineries to obtain an Iowa Wine Direct Shipper’s License and pay the annual $25 license fee before shipping to consumers in Iowa. There are no volume limits under the permit law; a significant change from the current two-case per person per month restriction. Wineries should apply for the Wine Direct Shipper’s license online at the Iowa Department of Commerce, Alcoholic Beverages Division web site: https://elicensing.iowaabd.com. All applications must be submitted electronically via the e-licensing web site. In addition, direct shipping applicants are required to send copies of their federal and state licenses and $5000 bond to the Alcoholic Beverages Division. Excise taxes must be paid and reported on a monthly basis. There are no sales tax requirements. Members with questions can contact Wine Institute’s State Relations Department at 415-356-7530 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Jun 17, 2010